RSS

Oggi era giorno buono, ma vorrei una buona dormita!

21 May

Buongiorno mi amici!!  I am going to keep this pretty short and sweet as I am quite tired and looking forward to enjoying my new book some more (The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks, already about halfway through) and relaxing, then maybe grabbing some gelato before I hit the sack.  Below are some pictures from the other night…on one of the bridges looking out across the Arno and inside St. Mark’s English Church (NOT the same as San Marco, which we found out the hard way and therefore missed the first act).  It was a great, intimate performance of Rigoletto (if you Google this play you will likely recognize one or two very famous songs from it), with the performers just a few feet away.  I enjoyed it thoroughly, despite being exhausted from racing across Florence (twice), and noticed how many words I was able to pick up on that a week ago I never would have been able to!  I do feel like I am learning quite a lot in school (Centro Firenza) and I am looking forward to the next two weeks as well as practicing in Rome!  Hopefully by my return I will be almost fluent!  Anyway, the other pictures are of two bars we went to last night (“we” being a bunch of students from school) with interesting décor/looks and finally the delicious dinner I just made…pasta with a sauce that included white wine, lemon, tomatoes, capers, olive oil and balsamic vinaigrette.  Oh—and prosciutto!  Although next time I will be more careful not to add the prosciutto too early so that it only warms but does not cook.  Anyway, I hope you enjoy and have a great day!!

**I almost forgot…today, I am grateful and thankful for the quote by Shakespeare that goes something like this “Nothing is good or bad, but thinking makes it so”.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on May 21, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “Oggi era giorno buono, ma vorrei una buona dormita!

  1. Sunshine

    May 22, 2011 at 5:34 am

    Your pasta sounds absolutely fantastic. You just made me so hungry! Beautiful pictures again, of course. Keep it coming!

     

Leave a Reply

 
